September 27 2012

Thor: The Dark World May Explore the Nine Realms

Marvel map of the Nine Realms - 640

You may want to sit back and get ready for the Marvel cinematic universe to get a whole lot bigger in Thor: The Dark World.

A Russian site is reporting that it has learned that all Nine Realms of the Marvel universe will be covered in the next Thor film.

The film promises to cover not just the Earth and Asgard, but the entire Nine Realms. The studio hopes that ‘Game of Thrones’ director Alan Taylor has the experience to build upon the fantasy of the series.

Seeing as Thor explained the Nine Realms to Jane Foster (Natalie Portman) in the first film, it isn’t too surprising that this will come into play. Seeing as it has already been revealed that the Dark Elves – which dwell in the seventh realm of Svartalfheim – will be playing a major role in the story, it makes sense we will see all of this playing a part.

You can check out the all of the realms in the map above (click for a larger image) and get ready to sit in the theater and go, “Huh?” because most comic readers do. While it’s fun to see the Marvel cinematic universe going deeper, there is some stuff that even long time readers of the books sometimes scratch their heads at, and the Nine Realms is one of those things.

Seeing as this is part of The Avengers Phase Two story, which is all building towards a fight with Thanos, it’ll be interesting to see how this all plays out.

share tweet share

Movies | |