October 29 2014

Marvel Announces Nine Movies for Phase 3

Avengers Infinity War logo

Marvel took the wraps off on Tuesday on its plans for all of Phase 3 of the Cinematic Universe, and it’s a doozy.

Currently we’re in Phase 2 of the Marvel Cinematic Universe which will wrap up with next year’s Ant-Man. From there on out things are going to escalate to a third Avengers film that will be broken into two parts along with a slew of new characters getting their first movies.

Everything will kick off with Captain America: Civil War which will feature not only Chris Evans, but Robert Downey Jr. showing up as Iron Man and Chadwick Boseman making his first in costume appearance as T’Challa/Black Panther. If this film follows the comic story of the Civil War, prepare for some pretty interesting themes about what it means to be a superhero.

Then we move on to Doctor Strange – no, they did not announce Cumberbatch in the role – which will be the first film for a new character. Guardians of the Galaxy 2 actually moved up two months to make room for the third Thor film, Thor: Ragnarok, to take its place. Then Black Panther enters the scene with his own film.

The first Marvel film of 2018 is where things will get super interesting as the third Avengers film will be split in two. Avengers: Infinity War Part 1 will arrive in May 2018 with Avengers: Infinity War Part 2 wrapping up the story in May 2019. Mixed in during that time will be the first film focusing on a female Marvel character, Captain Marvel, and the introduction of the Inhumans. That will wrap up Phase 3, but something tells me Phase 4 is already being planned.

Phase 3 will be the largest by far with nine films – Phases 1 & 2 both had six each – and will bring the total number of Marvel films to 21. That is just mind blowing to me as a lifelong Marvel fan, but I am thrilled to be living in this golden age of comic book based media.

Also of interest at the press conference was Kevin Feige, president of Marvel studios, confirmed that the upcoming four Netflix shows do belong in the Cinematic Universe continuity. Never made sense why they wouldn’t, but it is now official.

You can see Marvel’s full master plan below, and then I have a gallery of all the new film logos along with concept art for what Black Panther will look like. There are 30 superhero films planned between now and 2020, can the market support that many? Well, we’re about to find out.

Release Date
Phase 1
Iron ManMay 2, 2008
The Incredible HulkJune 13, 2008
Iron Man 2May 7, 2010
ThorMay 6, 2011
Captain America: The First AvengerJuly 22, 2011
The AvengersMay 4, 2012
Phase 2
Iron Man 3May 3, 2013
Thor: The Dark WorldNovember 8, 2013
Captain America: The Winter SoldierApril 4, 2014
Guardians of the GalaxyAugust 1, 2014
Avengers: Age of UltronMay 1, 2015
Ant-ManJuly 17, 2015
Phase 3
Captain America: Civil WarMay 6, 2016
Doctor StrangeNovember 4, 2016
Guardians of the Galaxy 2May 5, 2017
Thor: RagnarokJuly 28, 2017
Black PantherNovember 3, 2017
Avengers: Infinity War Part 1May 4, 2018
Captain MarvelJuly 6, 2018
InhumansNovember 2, 2018
Avengers: Infinity War Part 2May 3, 2019

share tweet share

Movies | | | | | | | | | |