December 10 2015

MADtv reuniting for 20th anniversary

This January will see 19 of the cast members of MADtv reunite for a 20th anniversary special on The CW.

… we’ll just ignore that the series ran on Fox originally.

It was announced on Wednesday that a large chunk of the cast of MADtv would reunite for a special that will air on Jan. 12 at 8/7c. According to the announcement “the cast reunites to attend a glamorous award ceremony to honor the series, but in classic MADtv fashion, nothing goes as planned.”

The former stars of the series appearing will include Ike Barinholtz, Alex Borstein, Mo Collins, Crista Flanagan, Anjelah Johnson, Nicole Randall Johnson, Keegan-Michael Key, Phil LaMarr, Artie Lange, Bobby Lee, Michael McDonald, Arden Myrin, Nicole Parker, Eric Price, Will Sasso, Aries Spears, Nicole Sullivan, Stephnie Weir and Debra Wilson. And, yes, some of them will reprise their well-known characters. I can’t imagine not seeing Borstein as Ms. Swan or McDonald as Stewart. I can only hope Sullivan will take a moment to appear as Antonia as opposed to the Vancome Lady.

I wonder if she still has a cat named CeCe.

Running from 1995 to 2009, MADtv was the lesser known sketch comedy show that aired on Saturday nights. It was never huge for ratings, but that allowed the series to take more chances and do some really out there sketches, especially in the earliest seasons. I was a loyal watcher for many years, so I’m excited to see the cast back together even if it’s just for one night… on a different network.

share tweet share

TV |